print header

Knox Recycles

Please note: Beginning August 26, 2019 Knox County Convenience Centers will no longer accept glass bottles and jars for RECYCLING. Resident wishing to recycle glass should use a City Recycling Center. Otherwise, place glass in with regular household trash.

Knox County drop-off centers offer comprehensive recycling options, ranging from aluminum can and plastic bottle collection to car battery and CFL lightbulb recycling. In addition to the county drop-off centers, there are several other recycling centers located in the greater Knoxville area. If you are a City of Knoxville resident you can call 215-4311 for more information on city recycling centers and curbside collection. Please note that some of Knox County’s smaller centers have limited recycling options. See below for more information on what’s accepted and where. For more information contact the Knox County Solid Waste Office.

Why should I recycle?

Knox County taxpayers spend almost $2,000,000 per year to transport to and bury waste in a landfill forever while the revenue from the sale of recyclables can sometimes exceed $500,000 per year. Recycling helps offset significant expenses and helps keep taxes low.

Recycling Collected at Centers:

Map of Knox County recycling centers

  • Plastic (all plastics #1-7) (No styrofoam) 
  • Mixed paper
  • Cardboard
  • Newspaper
  • Aluminum cans
  • Steel cans
  • Scrap metal (washers, dryers, hot water heaters, grills, other loose pieces of scrap metal - NO REFRIGERATORS, REFRIGERANTS, OR FREON DEVICES)
  • Carpet (accepted at Halls, Karns, John Sevier, Powell)
  • Car batteries
  • Propane cylinders
  • Auto Waste (used oil, oil filters and antifreeze)
  • Tires (click here)
  • CFL Lightbulbs
  • Mercury thermostats
  • Mercury thermometers
  • Goodwill drop-off locations (Dutchtown, Halls, Karns and John Sevier)
  • Cooking oil
  • twitter
  • rss
  • email

Solid Waste Administrative Office

Phone: 865-215-JUNK (5865)
Fax: 865-215-5820

Solid Waste administrative Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Department Email