print header

Election Schedule

2019 - City of Knoxville Primary Election

City of Knoxville elections are in odd-numbered years. All terms of office are 4 years. The Primary election is the last Tuesday in August of every odd-numbered year. 

Offices on the ballot in 2019:

  • City Mayor
  • City Council at-Large, Seat A
  • City Council at-Large, Seat B
  • City Council at-Large, Seat C
  • City Council, District 5
  • Municipal Judge

Schedule:

  • Monday, March 18, 2019 - First day to pick up a nominating petition from the KCEC office
  • Thursday, May 16, 2019 at NOON - Candidate Qualifying Deadline
  • Thursday, May 23, 2019 at NOON - Candidate Withdrawal Deadline
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - First day to request an absentee ballot
  • Monday, July 29, 2019 - Final day to register to vote before election
  • Wednesday, August 7, 2019 - First day of Early Voting period
  • Tuesday, August 20, 2019 - Final day to request an absentee ballot
  • Thursday, August 22, 2019 - Final day of Early Voting period
  • Tuesday, August 27, 2019 - Election Day

2019 - City of Knoxville Regular (General) Election

City of Knoxville elections are in odd-numbered years. All terms of office are 4 years. The Regular (General) election is the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of every odd-numbered year. 

Offices on the ballot in 2019:

  • City Mayor (only if one candidate did not receive a majority of all votes cast in Primary Election)
  • City Council, Seat A (top two (2) candidates from Primary on ballot)
  • City Council, Seat B (top two (2) candidates from Primary on ballot)
  • City Council, Seat C (top two (2) candidates from Primary on ballot)
  • City Council, District 5 (top two (2) candidates from Primary on ballot)
  • Municipal Judge (only if one candidate did not receive a majority of all votes cast in Primary Election)

Schedule:

  • Wednesday, August 7, 2019 - First day to request an absentee ballot
  • Monday, October 7, 2019 - Final day to register to vote before election
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - First day of Early Voting period
  • Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - Final day to request an absentee ballot
  • Thursday, October 31, 2019 - Final day of Early Voting period
  • Tuesday, November 5, 2019 - Election Day
connect
  • Facebook
  • twitter
  • rss
  • email

Elections

Old Court House
300 Main Street
Suite 218 Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone: 865-215-2480
Fax: 865-215-4239
TDD: 865-215-2954
Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Email