

MERIT SYSTEM FOR THE EMPLOYEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

MERIT SYSTEM BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES December 9, 2024, 12:30 P.M., Main Assembly Room, City/County Building, 400 W. Main Street

Present at this meeting: Christopher Manning, Chairman; Michael Crichton, Board Member; Kenny Boatman, Board Member; Clarence Vaughn, Board Member; Dan Johnson, Board Member; Lindsay Willis, Board Member; Sheriff Tom Spangler, KCSO; Chief Debbie Cox, KCSO; Detective Jeremy McCord, KCSO; Mitzi Evans, KCSO; Myers Morton, Knox County Law Director; Paula Taylor, Executive Director.

Chairman Manning called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.

Chairman Manning asked if there were any amendments, additions, or deletions to the agenda; being none, the agenda was set.

The meeting minutes of the September 16, 2024, board meeting were presented. Mr. Boatman made a motion to approve the meeting minutes as presented, Mr. Vaughn seconded, motion passed.

Chairman Manning opened nominations for Vice-Chairman, nominating Kenny Boatman, Mr. Vaughn seconded, motion passed.

Chairman Manning recognized Sheriff Spangler who presented the request to amend Rule and Regulation 6.1.3 (f), Eligibility Requirements, to include Uncharacterized Discharges as an acceptable discharge pending a waiver through POST and/or TN Corrections Institute, Ms. Willis made a motion to approve the change as presented, Mr. Vaughn seconded, motion passed.

There being no further business before the board, the meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:	Approved:
Paula M. Taylor Executive Director	Christopher Manning Board of Directors Chairman