print header

Commissioner John Schoonmaker - 5th District

commissioner photo

John Schoonmaker was appointed to the Knox County Commission on January 12, 2015 to fill the vacant seat in District 5 when Dr. Richard Briggs was elected to the Tennessee Senate.  John will seek re-election in 2016.  Commissioner Schoonmaker has been a resident in the 5th District for 30 years.

From 1997 until 2009 John served as President of the Council of West Knox County Homeowners.  The Council is an umbrella organization representing 50 homeowner associations in West Knox County.  He has continually served on his neighborhood homeowner’s association board since 1996.  His other volunteer service and appointments include Knox County Stormwater Advisory Board, Knox County Sheriff’s Citizen Academy and Vice President of the Farragut High School Football Booster Club.  John is a lifelong Republican and member of the Concord - Farragut Republican Club. 

Based on his extensive knowledge and experience in zoning issues, John was appointed to Knox County Board of Zoning and Appeals in 2009.  In 2012, he was elected Chairman of that Board and served as Chairman until his appointment to the Knox County Commission. 

John’s professional career includes over 35 years in sales, marketing and business ownership in the furniture and sporting goods industries.  His extensive business travel throughout the U.S. gave John the opportunity to observe what other communities are doing for development, businesses and their citizens.

John and his wife, Heather, have been married for 36 years and they have two children, Laura and Justin.  They live in the Tan Rara Oeste neighborhood.

Commissioner John Schoonmaker • 10044 Tan Rara Drive • Knoxville, TN 37922
Cell: 865-607-6625
  • twitter
  • rss
  • email

County Commission

City County Building
Suite 603
400 Main Street
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone: 865-215-2534
Fax: 865-215-2038
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Department Email