print header

Knox County Charter Review Committee

Charter Review Committee Charter Review Committee

In accordance with the Knox County Charter, every 8 years a Charter review Committee is formed for the purpose of reviewing the Charter and determining the desirability of amendments. 

The Charter Review Committee is composed of twenty-seven total members. The Charter Review Committee membership is composed of nine members of Knox County Commission representing a specific district, nine citizen members of each commission district nominated by their County Commissioner, and nine citizen members who are nominated by the Knox County Mayor.

The Charter Review Committee will meet publicly to review the charter, debate and consider changes to the charter, and submit the recommended changes to the Knox County citizens for approval during the Knox County 2020 Summer and/or Fall elections.

Members of the Committee:


  • Evelyn Gill
  • Michele Carringer
  • Randy Smith
  • Hugh Nystrom
  • John Schoonmaker
  • Brad Anders
  • Charles Busler
  • Richie Beeler
  • Carson Dailey
  • (The At-Large can’t serve on the committee)

Commission Appointments (listed by district)

  1. Jered Croom
  2. Daniel Davis
  3. James Corcoran
  4. John Gill
  5. William Johns
  6. Gary Drinnen
  7. Sandra Sexton
  8. Lisa Starbuck
  9. Barry Neal

Mayor’s Appointments (listed by district)

  1. Sam McKenzie
  2. Amanda Benedict
  3. Mark Mamantov
  4. Scott Davis
  5. Mike Arms
  6. Daniel Herrera
  7. Rachel Sanders
  8. John Valliant
  9. Nick Pavlis

Dates of meetings:

  • Monday – April 6, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday – April 13, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday – April 23, 2020 at 5:30 p.m. (unconfirmed)


Contact Us
  • twitter
  • rss
  • email

County Commission

City County Building
Suite 603
400 Main Street
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone: 865-215-2534
Fax: 865-215-2038
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Department Email
Watch Meetings

Charter (PDF file)