KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Friday, September 1, 2023 at 8:00 a.m. in the Small Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Street. Those members present were Commissioners Dasha Lundy, Courtney Durrett, Gina Oster, Kyle Ward, John Schoonmaker, Terry Hill, Rhonda Lee, Richie Beeler, Carson Dailey, Larsen Jay and Kim Frazier. Also present were Ms. Sherry Witt, Knox County Clerk, Mr. Mike Moyers, Knox County Senior Deputy Law Director, Mr. David Buuck, Knox County Law Director, and members of the news media.

Ms. Sherry Witt, Knox County Clerk, presided.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit:

* * * * * *

<u>IN RE:</u> <u>CALL TO ORDER:</u>

Ms. Sherry Witt, Knox County Clerk, called the meeting to order.

* * * * * *

IN RE: *ROLL CALL*:

Mrs. Kim Ellis, Clerk Recorder, called the roll.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION WITH THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR:

Consideration of the re-organization of the Knox County Commission with the election of Chair and Vice-Chair was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Mike Moyers, Knox County Senior Deputy Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Upon roll call for nominations for Chair of the Knox County Commission, Commissioner Lundy passed. Commissioner Durrett nominated Commissioner Hill. Commissioner Oster passed. Commissioner Ward passed. Commissioner Schoonmaker passed. Commissioner Hill passed. Commissioner Lee passed. Commissioner Beeler passed. Commissioner Dailey passed. Commissioner Jay passed. Commissioner Frazier passed.

Commissioner Dailey moved to cease nominations and elect Commissioner Hill Chair by acclamation. Commissioner Ward seconded the motion and upon voice vote the motion carried 9-0-2-0. Commissioners Schoonmaker and Dailey abstained from voting.

Commissioner Terry Hill was elected Chairwoman of the Knox County Commission.

* * * * * *

At this time, Ms. Witt, Knox County Clerk, stepped down from the Chair and Commissioner Hill, Chairwoman, presided.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call for nominations for Vice-Chair of the Knox County Commission, Commissioner Durrett passed. Commissioner Oster passed. Commissioner Ward nominated Commissioner Oster. Commissioner Schoonmaker passed. Commissioner Hill passed. Commissioner Lee passed. Commissioner Beeler passed. Commissioner Dailey passed. Commissioner Jay passed. Commissioner Frazier passed. Commissioner Lundy passed.

Commissioner Dailey moved to cease nominations and elect Commissioner Oster Vice-Chair by acclamation. Commissioner Ward seconded the motion and upon voice vote the motion carried 11-0-0-0.

Commissioner Gina Oster was elected Vice-Chairwoman of the Knox County Commission.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION
OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING COMMISSIONERS TO
THE STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION
(STANDING COMMITTEES NOT COMPOSED OF THE ENTIRE
MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMISSION INCLUDE THE RULES
COMMITTEE, INSOLVENCY BOARD AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS
COMMITTEE) - R-23-9-101-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing Commissioners to the Standing Committees of the Knox County Commission (Standing Committees not composed of the entire membership of the Commission include the Rules Committee, Insolvency Board and Legislative Affairs Committee) was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Mike Moyers, Knox County Senior Deputy Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

The following Commissioners were nominated for appointment to the Insolvency Board: Commissioners Oster, Lee, Jay and Frazier.

The following Commissioners were nominated for appointment to the Legislative Affairs Committee: Commissioners Oster, Schoonmaker, Lee, Dailey and Jay.

The following Commissioners were nominated for appointment to the Rules Committee: Commissioners Durrett, Oster, Lee, Jay and Frazier.

Commissioner Hill moved to approve Resolution R-23-9-101-SS - Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing Commissioners to the Standing Committees of the Knox County Commission (Standing Committees not composed of the entire membership of the Commission

include the Rules Committee, Insolvency Board and Legislative Affairs Committee). Commissioner Oster seconded the motion and upon voice vote the motion carried 11-0-0-0.

* * * * * *

A brief recess was taken at this time and the following committees convened and elected its Chair and Vice-Chair as follows:

Insolvency Board - Commissioner Oster - Chair; Commissioner Jay - Vice-Chair.

* * * * * *

Legislative Affairs Committee: Commissioner Schoonmaker - Chair; Commissioner Dailey - Vice-Chair.

* * * * * *

Rules Committee: Commissioner Frazier - Chair; Commissioner Durrett - Vice-Chair.

* * * * * *

Telecom Committee: Commissioner Beeler - Chair; Commissioner Dailey - Vice-Chair.

* * * * * *

Finance Committee: Commissioner Jay - Chair; Commissioner Schoonmaker - Vice-Chair.

* * * * * *

The Board of Commissioner's meeting reconvened at this time.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, PROVIDING FOR THE COMMISSION'S CONTINUED PARTICIPATION IN THE JOINT EDUCATION COMMITTEE THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2024 AND APPOINTING/REAPPOINTING FOUR (4) COMMISSIONERS TO SERVE ON SAID COMMITTEE - R-23-9-102-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, providing for the Commission's continued participation in the Joint Education Committee through August 31, 2024 and appointing/reappointing four (4) commissioners to serve on said Committee was before the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner Beeler moved to approve Resolution R-23-9-102-SS - Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, providing for the Commission's continued participation in the Joint Education Committee through August 31, 2024 and reappointing Commissioners Dasha Lundy, Gina Oster, Rhonda Lee and Kim Frazier to serve on said Committee. Commissioner Ward seconded the motion and upon voice vote the motion carried 11-0-0-0.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Hill declared the meeting adjourned.

* * * * * *

KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

TERRY HILL, CHAIRWOMAN